DC Government & Role of ANCs

Capitol Hill is part of Ward 6.

DC Government 101

DC Government Organizational Chart

Congress’ Power Over the District

Despite being bigger than some States and its residents paying taxes, DC is not a State. This means its representatives in Congress don’t have voting rights. In addition, Congress has oversight powers over the District.  The DC government can’t pass a law or spend money without approval from Congress.

DC Values Playbook

Created by the Office of the Mayor “to educate all Washingtonians on how the federal government can interfere with our affairs through the legislative and budgetary processes. The Playbook is an overview of the processes that may unfold and the key players that may be involved.”

DC Home Rule:

DC Home Rule Act
Five myths about D.C. home rule (Washington Post, May 20, 2016)

History:  Here’s Why Washington D.C. Isn’t a State (Time, Apr. 15, 2016)

DC Statehood Movement:  https://statehood.dc.gov

Office of the Mayor

Executive Office:  http://mayor.dc.gov

Mayor’s Office of Community Relations and Services (MOCRS):  https://mocrs.dc.gov

Ward 6 Liaisons

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-2-38-15-pmK. Kelly Jeong
Phone: (202) 442-4680
Cell: (202) 538-1241

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 6.04.01 PMTynisha S. Owens
Phone: (202) 545-3114
Cell: (202) 341-3659

DC Council Capitol Hill Representative

The DC Council is comprised of thirteen members: a representative elected from each of the eight wards; and five members, including the Chairman, elected at-large.

The representative for Capitol Hill (and the rest of Ward 6) is currently Charles Allen (Term: Jan. 2, 2015 – Jan. 2, 2019).

Website: http://www.charlesallenward6.com
Constituency Services Form
Meeting Request Form
Email: callen@dccouncil.us
Tel: (202)-724-8072
Office:  1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Suite 406

Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANCs)

Advisory Neighborhood Commissions (ANCs), unique to DC, are non-partisan, neighborhood bodies made up of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners who serve two-year terms (without pay) and are elected in November in even-numbered years.  Each Commissioner represents residents who live in his or her “Single Member District” (SMO) area.

The main job of the ANCs, as described on the DC government website, are “to be their neighborhood’s official voice in advising the District government (and Federal agencies) on things that affect their neighborhoods.”

The ANCs initiate recommendations for improving city services, conduct neighborhood improvement programs, and monitor resident complaints. Although DC agencies are not required to follow the ANCs’ advice, they are required to give the ANCs’ recommendations “great weight.” DC law says that agencies cannot take any action that will significantly affect a neighborhood unless they give the affected ANCs 30 days advance notice. This includes zoning, streets, recreation, education, social services, sanitation, planning, safety, budget, and health services.

The Capitol Hill neighborhood has the following ANCs, which meet once a month and have their own websites.


Email: 6A@anc.dc.gov
Meeting Location: Miner Elementary School, 601 15th Street, NE
Meeting Date: 2nd Thursday, 7 pm


Email: 6B@anc.dc.gov
Meeting Location: Hill Center, 921 Pennsylvania Ave., SE
Meeting Date: 2nd Tuesday, 7 pm


Email:  none
Meeting Location: Heritage Foundation, 214 Massachusetts Avenue NE.
Meeting Date: 2nd Wednesday (Except October, the 2nd Tuesday), 7 pm


Email: 6D@anc.dc.gov
Meeting Location:  1100 4th St. SW, 2nd Floor
Meeting Date: 2nd Monday (except August no meeting, and October, 3rd Monday), 7 pm

For more information and to learn which ANC represents your area of the Hill, visit http://anc.dc.gov (which is the source of the map below).